Skip to content

Our History

Founded in 1891, learn more about the rich history of Leweston School. 

St Antony's Founded


St Antony’s school is founded in Sherborne in 1891 by the Religious of Christian Instruction. The first sisters travelled from their mother house in Belgium to promote an academic and spiritual education and St Antony’s was the order’s first establishment in the UK.

The sisters establish two schools on the site: St Antony’s, a boarding school and St Joseph’s which offered free education to the local community until government legislation forced it to close in the 1950s.


Senior School Moves to Leweston Manor


In 1948 the demands of the Education Act saw the move of the senior pupils to Leweston Manor, an extensive estate which dates back to the Middle Ages.

The range of buildings on the site spans several architectural epochs. The historically important Trinity Chapel is one of the first post-Reformation churches in the country. The core of the school is a fine Palladian manor house, built in the late 18th century with Art Deco interior.


Leweston Starts to Grow

1956 - 1960

The Sisters build North Wing in 1956 and convert Dutch House to boarding accommodation for 40 girls in 1958. In 1959 the first classroom wing goes up adding another 10 rooms. The school has its first Chapel.

The Swimming Pool


The new outdoor Swimming Pool is opened by the Bishop, heralding the start of many chilly winter, and lovely summer swims. 

South Wing is Added


South Wing is built to provide a brand new Dining Room and study bedrooms for 30 Sixth Formers.

Pensabene Hall and St Antony's Chapel


The iconic octagonal chapel is built to the Sisters chosen design, with Pensabene Hall underneath. This provides the school with a space for after-school homework and examinations.  

Additional Classrooms


An additional wing of classrooms is developed to provide an Arts Studio, Crafts Room and Needlework Studio. These are added to the laboratories which had been built in 1966.

Sports Hall


Leweston gets it first dedicated Sports Hall.

Leweston takes over the Coach House


Initially housing 12 study bedrooms, Leweston part-purchases the Coach House. In 1981 the remainder of the building is converted into an Arts Centre.

South Wing Expands


South Wing gets an additional upper floor which adds a further 40 Sixth Form rooms. These continue to be study bedrooms for the older boarders.

The Norfolk Centre for Art and Design


The Duke and Duchess of Norfolk open the new, purpose built Art and Design Centre. The Department vacates the Coach House. 

Prep School Moves to Leweston Manor


The Prep School reunites with the Senior on the Leweston campus as the younger pupils take up residence in the redesigned Coach House.

Longford Science Centre Opens

Lord Longford opens the brand new science centre. The previous laboratories are converted to provide additional classrooms. 

A New Name


The school amends its name to Leweston School. The school crest remains the same, which includes the reference to St Antony’s.

The Swimming Pool gets a Make-over

The much loved/loathed outdoor swimming pool is remodelled. It now provides the school with a covered, heated 25m pool which can be used all year round and is instrumental in Leweston becoming a Pentathlon training hub.

Leweston becomes fully Co-educational


Whilst the Prep School has welcomed younger boys for decades in 2017 Leweston announces a move to full co-education across all age groups.  Leweston welcomes its first eight boys into the Senior School in September, there are now 140 Seniors and 90 Prep boys. 

Antony House Opens


North Wing boarding becomes Antony House, the schools first boarding house for boys. The school welcomes boys from aged 8 to 18 as full, weekly and flexi boarders.

New Music School and Padua Hall


The upper floor of the Manor House is converted into a new Music School with ensemble room, practice rooms and a recording studio. The Prep school expands in the Coach House and the new Padua Hall is opened.